Facebook

Facebook

If you have deleted your embarrassing pictures from your Facebook account months or even years ago and got relaxed then you may be shocked when you will know that the deleted photos from Facebook may still be present on the social networking site and it may still be viewable months or even years after.

Deleted pictures on the website disappear, but can still be accessed by anyone with a direct URL link to the images.

Authority Speak

Admitting and revealing this fact Facebook spokesman has told to The Daily Mail :

Frederic Wolens
The systems we used for photo storage a few years ago did not always delete images from content delivery networks in a reasonable period of time even though they were immediately removed from the site.

We have been working hard to move our photo storage to newer systems which do ensure photos are fully deleted within 45 days of the removal request being received.

This process is nearly complete and there is only a very small percentage of user-photos still on the old system awaiting migration.

Facebook Timeline Issue

However Facebook has repeatedly promised to fix problems with the systems it uses to remove photographs, after users pointed out that images tend to persist even after deletion. The revelation came after Facebook faced criticism for its new Timeline type profile pages, giving users seven days to ‘tidy up’ their timelines by removing pictures and posts they don’t like. 😆 😆