Privacy of Users Seriously Compromised by Google in its New Policy

Privacy of Users Seriously Compromised by Google in its New Policy

As announced by Google, from March 1, 2012 – its new policy will come into effect for all of its user accounts. This rule says – one policy for all Google services and products. The new policy seriously compromises privacy of users. Google’s new policy is receiving serious criticism all over the internet.

Very few of Google users know that Google tracks their web activities including searches.

If you have a Google account (I’m sure you have one), and if you have not paused your web history setting, then Google is tracking your searches and the websites that you visit. You can imagine that this data is sensitive and many times several personal searches are made by people, which obviously they don’t want to share with others.

Google earlier kept this data private and separate from its other products and services. But now with effect from March 1, 2012 – Google is going to share this sensitive information collected from your YouTube, Google+ and other Google accounts.

Obviously, you’ll not want Google to share your online activities with others. You can stop Google from tracking your online activities by pausing Google Web History.

Read this exclusive guide brought to you by TechPuffs to deal with this Google privacy issue.

How to stop Google from tracking and sharing your online activities?

If you seriously want to stop Google from tracking your online activities, then you will have to pause Google Web History. For this, follow the following steps :

Step 1 :
Login into Google Web History with your Google login and password.
To login : CLICK HERE

If you are currently logged into any of Google services, then there is another way to go to Google Web History. Click on top right corner logo and click Account settings. See the below screenshot. On Google account settings, scroll down and click Go to web history.

Google Account Settings

Google Account Settings

Step 2 :
If in your Google account, web history is enabled, then there will be a list of recent searches made by you and websites visited through clicking search results.

To clear your web history you have to just click the gray button labeled as Remove all Web History. In the next confirmation prompt click OK. See the screenshot below.

Remove all Web History in Google

Remove all Web History in Google


This action automatically disables further tracking i.e. your web history gets set into pause mode.

Step 3 :
There is no step 3. If in the future, you want to be tracked by Google, then you will have to click blue Resume button on Google Web History. See screenshot below.


Resume Web History in Google

Resume Web History in Google

Video Tutorial on How to Disable Google Web History

CNET’s official channel on YouTube has produced a nice video tutorial on this topic. You can watch it below :