The most popular online search engine Google has announced a new tool which is designed to allow users to decide what to do with the data after their death.
The tool will be applicable to your online data saved in Gmail, Google Plus, Picasa, YouTube and other google products. Google is the first ever online company to extensively and effectively deal with the issue of digital afterlife.
The new account management tool will allow users to set what to do with the data after the account is inactive for 3 months, 6 months, 9 months and 12 months. The user can choose the data to be deleted or to be sent to specified contacts from some or all services run by Google.
In Google’s Public Policy Blog, Andreas Tuerk (Product Manager) stressed :
We hope that this new feature will enable you to plan your digital afterlife – in a way that protects your privacy and security – and make life easier for your loved ones after you’re gone.
Facebook also has somewhat similar feature that allows friends and family to memorialize the Facebook account of a deceased person.