Secure your Facebook Account from Hackers

Secure your Facebook Account from Hackers

Now a days, almost all internet users have a Facebook account and those who are the regular Facebook users, they share lot of private stuff over Facebook like their pictures, private messages, contact details, chats etc. So it is like a nightmare to get his account hacked. The fact is that everyday Facebook is hit by new spam and scams. But fortunately Facebook has provided some security features that can block any kind of unauthorized access to your Facebook account.

There are certain steps which need to be followed in order to ensure that your Facebook account remains safe from hacking. These steps are quite simple and you can apply it in just a moment. These steps are described below.

Use HTTPS instead of HTTP

Using HTTPS instead of simple HTTP means that you are securing your communication between the server and your computer. No one will be able to hack between your computer and the server.

HTTPS in Address Bar, if Secure Browsing Enabled in Facebook

HTTPS in Address Bar, if Secure Browsing Enabled in Facebook


Without it you are exposed to sniffing attacks on the network – for example if you are using a public Wi-Fi to access Facebook via plain HTTP, someone using the Firesheep add-on for Firefox can easily retrieve your data. HTTPS makes it a lot harder to do that.
Secure Browsing Setting in Facebook

Secure Browsing Setting in Facebook


To enable secure login, go to :
Account Settings – Security – Secure Browsing

Enable Log-in Notification

Enabling login notifications in Facebook will notify you when someone logs in from a new or suspicious location or computer. This is important if you always use your Facebook from the same computer and same Internet connection. Facebook will know your location and will trust the computer you’re working on. If you or someone else logs in from another location, you’ll get a notification from Facebook about the suspicious account activity.

Login Notification Setting in Facebook

Login Notification Setting in Facebook


To enable login notification, go to :
Account Settings – Security – Login Notifications

Also, you should check Facebook Login history regularly and see if any suspicious person has logged into your Facebook account. Facebook history will tell you the recent IP addresses and devices used to login to your Facebook account.

Use Facebook Two-Step Authentication (Login Approvals)

Two-step authentication OR Login Approvals lets you login to your Facebook account by using your password plus a security authentication code sent to your mobile device. By enabling this service, you will no longer be able to login to Facebook by only using your password. You will always be required to use the password and security code sent to your mobile device. If somebody acquires your password, he will still need the authentication code to login.

To enable two-step authentication, go to :
Account Settings – Security – Login Approval

Check Your Facebook Applications Frequently

It is important that you should always keep an eye on which application you have allowed and what that application is doing. You should never install an app that looks suspicious. Some of the apps can pull a lot of your personal data from your profile without your knowledge. So it is always the best practice to search the Internet for its reviews and install the app only if it has good rating.

Check for the Phishing Scam

Phishing is the easiest method of hacking any password. Sometimes scammers will set up a fake page to look like a Facebook login page, hoping to get you to enter your email address and password. So Always make sure you check the page’s URL (web address) before entering your login information. When in doubt, you can always type “facebook.com” into your browser to get back to the real Facebook site.

Use Facebook One-Time Password Service on Public Computers

Facebook new one-time password is an amazing service that can prevent you from hacking threats when you are using an unreliable computer. This One-time password is a temporary password which can only be used once and expires within 20 minutes of creation. This service is very useful when you quickly want to check your Facebook account for updates or new messages at a new place.

Mobile Phone Activation in Facebook

Mobile Phone Activation in Facebook


Just type in sms “otp” and send it to 32665 from your cell phone. To enable this service, you’ll need to activate a phone number so that Facebook can send messages to your mobile.

To register and activate a phone number, go to :
Account Settings – Mobile (from the menu at left)